Sep 5, 2013

Google Apps: Undo Send

We've all done it: typed a thoughtful message citing an essential document that is promised as an attachment. After double checking our email text we joyfully click Send, feeling a sense of accomplishment. Then we realize... we forgot to attach the document.

Some email software pretends to allow the ability to recall a message. All that does is send a message to each recipient highlighting the message you didn't want them to receive.

Google's Undo Send tool (available through Labs) allows the occasionally forgetful a 5-30 second grace period to fix errors and attach documents.

To enable this feature:
  • Log in to Gmail.
  • Click the Gear icon in the upper right corner, below your email address.
  • Select Settings.
  • Click the Labs tab.
  • Find the "Undo Send" lab and select the Enable radio button.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save Changes.

Each time you send a message using Gmail, a little yellow box appears at the top to let you know the message has been sent. Once enabled, Undo Send allows you to choose to take back the message before it is sent, allowing you to quickly edit or attach a file.



After enabling Undo Send you can adjust the length of time Gmail waits to send your message:
  • Log in to Gmail.
  • Click the Gear icon in the upper right corner, below your email address.
  • Select Settings.
  • Click the General tab.
  • Find the "Undo Send" section.
  • Select the amount of time you would like the ability to recall a message (5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds)
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save Changes.

For assistance with this or any other Google Apps for Education tool, GTSD staff are encouraged to contact Mrs. Bond.